2013 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

The new selection of musicians set to be inducted into the 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been announced today, with leaders in the music industry acknowledging artists who have made a significant impact on the evolution and development of rock and roll music throughout their careers.

Several artists who have previously been nominated for the Hall of Fame have finally earned their place this year, including the late Donna Summer, Randy Newman, female rock group Heart and Rush.

Speaking of the honour of joining the Hall of Fame Rush’s singer and bassist Geddy Lee told Rolling Stone magazine: “It’s a terrific honor and we’ll show up smiling, it made my mom happy, so that’s worth it.” Lee continued to thank the band’s fans for pushing for them to be inducted, stating: “It was a cause they championed, I’m very relieved for them and we share this honor with them, for sure.”

Meanwhile, Randy Newman admitted that the induction has come as quite a shock to him, confessing: “I thought maybe I’d have to die before they let me in. I’m really glad it happened when I was still around to see it . . . They’re always a little doctrinaire about what’s rock & roll and what isn’t rock & roll. It’s nice they opened up a little to let me in.”

Public Enemy, along with blues musician Albert King are one of the few acts who managed to earn an induction into the Hall of Fame on their first bid. Public Enemy will be only the fourth hip-hop act ever to have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, with Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five being inducted in 2007, Run- D.M.C in 2009 and the Beastie Boys just last year.

Musicians set to be inducted in the non-performing Ahmet Ertegun Award category of the Hall of Fame are producers Quincy Jones and Lou Adler.

Nominees were selected for induction from a 500 ballot vote, made up of music industry experts. 1 vote out of the 500 comes from a public vote. Those nominated for the 2013 Hall of Fame but missed out on induction this time around include: Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Kraftwerk, gangsta rappers N.W.A,  Motown’s Marvelettes, New Orleans band The Meters, art rockers Procol Harum, dance soul act Chic and and 60’s electric blue’s pioneers Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

Those who have been given a place in the 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will attend an induction ceremony on April 18, at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles. The 28th annual ceremony will be televised on HBO on May 18th.

Share This Post

One Response to “2013 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced”

  1. Lorena says:

    Ah. I grew up on Tom Waits (as well as Neil Young, Bob Dylan, the Grateful Dead, etc.) I couldn’t be haipper that he’s getting this kind of recognition. He’s a brilliant songwriter, and not a half-bad comic actor!

Leave a Reply

© 2019 Maboot.com. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Powered by WordPress · Designed by Theme Junkie